Product detail

The Girl on the Stairs

The Girl on the Stairs

Author: Louise Welsh
$19.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Jane and Petra have been together for six years and after deciding to have a child, they move to Petra's hometown, Berlin. But things do not quite go according to plan. Jane, at six months pregnant, finds herself increasingly isolated and preoccupied with the monuments and reminders of the Holocaust which echo around the city - imagining the horrors that happened in the spaces around her. She becomes uneasy in the apartment and conceives a dread of the derelict backhouse across the courtyard. She also begins to suspect their neighbour, Alban Mann, of sexually assaulting his daughter, and places a phone call to the police which holds more significance than she can ever have known ...


Louise Welsh's taut new novel at times feels like a potent cross between The Yellow Wallpaper and Rear Window ... Welsh expertly conveys the escalation of Jane's suspicions to something approaching obsession -- Observer 'An impressive psychological chiller' -- Sunday Telegraph 'Sharply rendered ... The reader's anxiety is heightened by a myriad of small tensions ... Welsh keeps the reader turning to pursue the multiple stories threading through the pages ... The writing of crime fiction is, after all, a sort of conjuring trick played on the reader, a welcome deception. Welsh has developed flashing fingers with cards, rabbits and hats' -- Independent Builds up atmosphere admirably -- Sunday Times Brilliantly atmospheric, the tension builds until you are chilled to the core -- Good Housekeeping A taut narrative that plays with our sense of what's real. Brilliant -- Red 'A stylish and violent Berlin-set thriller' -- Guardian 'Powerful, impressive and as black as sin' -- The Spectator 'An outstanding work of psychological suspense that will thrill Welsh's existing fans and earn her many more' -- Daily Record 'A portrait of a city haunted by its past, with nods to Don't Look Now and Charlotte Perkins Gilman's The Yellow Wallpaper, it's a profoundly creepy read' -- Guardian Books of the Year 2012 'The Girl on the Stairs feels like a ghost story. Taking place in a haunted city, the book's knowing evocation of Don't Look Now, Du Maurier's Venice-set story, is sharpened by the fact that this mother is not grieving the loss of a child but anticipating a birth. Yet what Welsh knows, and brings to a bloody conclusion, is that no supernatural manifestation of our darkest hours is any match for what real human beings can do to each other' -- Guardian Welsh skilfully exposes Jane's growing obsession in a tale that becomes more compelling with every shocking twist -- Psychologies A highly effective mystery, told by the kind of unreliable narrator able to rival the very best at keeping you guessing -- Scotsman 'We've come to expect two things from Welsh: a brilliant sense of location and knuckle-whitening suspense ... Superbly entertaining' -- Saga 'Both chilling and disturbing insights into the female psyche' -- Scotsman 'Wonderfully atmospheric' -- List A masterclass in sustained tension and hold-your-breath suspense -- Bookseller 'Edgy, tense and a real page-turner' -- Woman 'A fast-paced read...this is definately a must read for fans of mystery or psychology' -- Ialwaysbelievedinfutures.blogspot 'This is a fantastic, dark, edgy and edgy of your seat thriller which will not disappoint fans of Louise Welsh but will also be perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton and Julia Crouch. Be prepared to loose sleep' -- 'The uncertainties and ambiguities kept me guessing to the end ... The Girl on the Stairs is a dark, psychological thriller, full of atmosphere and claustrophobic tension. I really enjoyed it' -- 'A clever Rear Window type thriller ... You won't be able to put this book down until the very end when there is a surprising twist. I was left with an uncomfortable feeling at the end and am still thinking about this book days after I finished it' -- 'A dark haunting novel. The story builds and as the tension incrases I enjoyed it more and more, and felt it got better and better until I was gripped ... It's a fairly short novel, written in spare prose with evocative descriptive passages and effective dialogue that always adds to the plot progression' -- 'The Girl on the Stairs is a gritty, psychological thriller with plenty of suspense, tension and mystery. The twists and turns will have you believing Jane one minute and thinking she's mad the next. A definite page-turner and an excellent read' -- Skilfully paced and heavily atmospheric' -- Sunday Telegraph

Author description

After a history degree from the University of Glasgow, Louise Welsh opened a second hand bookshop, which she ran for several years before becoming a full-time author. She has written four novels and has been the recipient of several awards including The John Creasey Memorial Dagger, the Saltire First Book Award, the Glenfiddich/Scotland on Sunday Spirit of Scotland Writing Award and City of Glasgow Lord Provost's Award for Literature. In 2007 she was named one of the twenty-five authors of the future by Waterstone's. She is currently writer in residence for The University of Glasgow and Glasgow School of Art. Find out more information on her website

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781848546509
  • : John Murray General Publishing Division
  • : John Murray Publishers Ltd
  • : February 2013
  • : 198mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Louise Welsh
  • : 823.92
  • : 304
  • : Paperback