Notes from the Velvet Underground

Author(s): Howard Sounes

General Biography / Memoir

"COMPELLING". (The Sunday Telegraph). "CONTROVERSIAL ...Sounes' book pushes the standard Reed narrative". (The New York Times). Lou Reed, who died in 2013, was best known to the general public as the grumpy New Yorker in black who sang 'Walk on the Wild Side'. To his dedicated admirers, however, he was one of the most innovative and intelligent American songwriters of modern times, a natural outsider who lived a tumultuous and tortured life. In this in-depth, meticulously researched and very entertaining biography, respected biographer Howard Sounes examines the life and work of this fascinating man, from birth to death, including his time as the leader of The Velvet Underground - one of the most important bands in rock'n'roll. Written with a deep knowledge and understanding of the music, Sounes also sheds entirely new light on the artist's creative process, his mental health problems, his bisexuality, his three marriages, and his addictions to drugs and alcohol. In the course of his research, Sounes has interviewed over 140 people from every part of Lou Reed's life - some of whom have not spoken publicly about him before - including music industry figures, band members, fellow celebrities, family members, former wives and lovers. This book brings Lou Reed and his world alive.

October 2017


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The definitive biography of Lou Reed, one of modern music's most influential artists.

"**** Compelling ... Sounes takes pride in carefully debunking the myths that have crept in from Reed's own fictionalisations" The Sunday Telegraph "Explosive" Daily Mail "Controversial ... Sounes' book pushes the standard Reed narrative" New York Times "A walk on the dark side" Independent

Howard Sounes is known for writing detailed and revelatory biographies of a wide range of extraordinary personalities, including the murderers Fred and Rosemary West (Fred & Rose), the American Charles Bukowski (Locked in the Arms of a Crazy Life), and the musicians Bob Dylan (Down the Highway) and Paul McCartney (Fab). Each book is based on extensive original research. For more information visit

General Fields

  • : 9781784160074
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Black Swan
  • : October 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 400
  • : 782.42166092
  • : English
  • : 1017
  • : Paperback
  • : Howard Sounes