Product detail

Ties That Bind: Familial Homophobia and Its Consequences

Ties That Bind: Familial Homophobia and Its Consequences

Author: Sarah Schulman
$24.95(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

In this groundbreaking book, playwright and social critic Sarah Schulman explores the family, the first place where all people: straight, gay, and bisexual, learn homophobia. It is within the family that homophobia begins to control the lives of perpetrators and recipients. Written in the tradition of Against Our Will: Men, Women, and Rape (Ballantine Books, 2000), which transformed rape from a private problem into an internationally recognised cultural crisis. Ties That Bind uncovers the hidden crime of 'familial homophobia' and moves it into the open.

Reviews

A message that needs to be heard in all its complexity. People should read this book.
--"Lambda Book Report"
"Ties That Bind" is one of the most exciting gay liberation texts to appear in years...this is a rewarding, wide-ranging, and challenging work from an original mind and a talented pen, one that will make you think and help you live.
--Doug Ireland, "Gay City News"
Schulman boldly declares that visibility is a failed strategy for cultural change.
--"Utne"
[Schulman is] a writer who has played a pivotal role in the cultural and political spheres of the gay community.
--"Curve"
To call her book ["Ties That Bind"] pioneering would be redundant. . . . With its personal appeals, its call to arms -- or rather, ethics -- and its advice for therapists, family members, and gay people, I continue to be struck by the book's usefulness above all else. . . .[I]t gives me hope that one day -- just as Schulman stipulates -- homophobia could actually be ah

Author description

Sarah Schulman is the author of seventeen books and a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Fulbright award. She is Distinguished Professor of Humanities at the City University of New York, College of Staten Island, and a fellow at the New York Institute for the Humanities at New York University. She lives in New York City.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781595588166
  • : The New Press
  • : The New Press
  • : April 2012
  • : 191mm X 133mm
  • : United States
  • : June 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 306.766
  • : Paperback
  • : Sarah Schulman
  • : 192