Product detail

Animal: The Autobiography of a Female Body

Animal: The Autobiography of a Female Body

Author: Sara Pascoe
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

 

Description

Sara is a comedian who has talked and joked about female sexuality, psychology, and the media's portrayal of women on stage and screen. While researching her most recent live show, Sara realized that she had a lot more to say. In her first book Sara combines autobiography and evolutionary history to entertain and inform about the female body. Why we have boobs and how they have become so fetishised. How the kidnap of a 13-year old-chimney sweep's daughter created our present age of consent. The discovery and subsequent forgetting of the clitoris, the many eras of misunderstanding the female orgasm. Did you know that clitorectomys were once performed on British and American women to cure masturbation and hysteria? And that we learned so much about female sexuality from the behavior of sperm? Animal is a laugh-out-loud book, perfect for fans of Caitlin Moran, Lena Dunham, and Amy Schumer.

Promotion info

A funny, feminist exploration of the female body by Fosters Comedy Award-nominated comedian Sara Pascoe.

Reviews

"Some comics serve up their anxieties just for laughs; Pascoe draws on hers - about love, her body, having babies - to offer provocative (and positive) new perspectives on the world." - Guardian

Author description

As a stand up, Sara Pascoe has starred on Live at the Apollo; QI; Never Mind The Buzzcocks; Room 101 (all BBC), along with 8/10 Cats and being a regular contributor on two series of Stand Up for The Week (both C4). Sara Pascoe vs History earned her a prestigious Fosters Comedy Award nomination for Best Show at the 2014 Edinburgh Festival. Sara won the 2014 Chortle Award for Best Breakthrough Act. As an actress, Sara has enjoyed series regular roles in W1A and Twenty Twelve (both BBC). Sara has written for the Guardian, the Independent and Standard Issue Magazine.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780571325245
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : March 2017
  • : 19.70 cmmm X 12.70 cmmm X 2.70 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Main
  • : Paperback
  • : Sara Pascoe
  • : 304
  • : 305.40207
  • : en