Straight Expectations: The Story of a Family in Transition

Author(s): Peggy Cryden LMFT

Trans & Gender Diverse Biography / Memoir | Trans, Intersex, Gender Diverse & Gender Non-Binary

Ever since they were young, Peggy Cryden noticed her children's gender expression did not correspond with society's expectations of their biological gender. In this moving and honest memoir, Peggy details the experiences and challenges of raising both a gay son and a gay, transgender son and shares her family's journey of adversity and growth, which has helped inform her work as a psychotherapist. Beginning with her own unconventional upbringing and personal relationships, the second half of the book follows her children from birth to adulthood and through their numerous experiences including coming out, depression, hate crime, relationships, school and various aspects to do with transitioning (legal, physical, medical, social) as well as their appearances in the media as a family. This book is insightful, charming and thought-provoking, and through levity and humour, offers a positive approach to parenting outside of convention.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A mother's memoir of raising a gay son and a gay, transgender son with insights and support for other parents

Winner of Living Now Book Award 2017 (United States).

Cryden writes with the emotional clarity of a seasoned therapist and also as one who's done her own soul searching. -- Ami B. Kaplan, LCSW New York City Psychotherapist and Gender Specialist.

Peggy Cryden, LMFT specialises in ADHD, gender identity, sexual orientation and interpersonal relationships. Peggy and her son Jake co-founded the non-profit organisation Trans United with Family & Friends (TUFF) to provide financial assistance to transgender and gender variant individuals. Janet Goldstein-Ball, LMFT has a private psychotherapy practice in Los Angeles, California, where she specialises in eating disorders, at-risk adolescents, substance abuse, and working with creative professionals. Janet also works in a hospital out-patient program and is a co-founder and board member of the Valley Federation of Eating Disorder Professionals (VFFD).

Preface. 1. The Green Room. 2. Raised by Wolves. 3. Saved by the Belles. 4. The Good Daughter. 5. Trick or Treat. 6. It's a Girl! 7. The First Two Years. 8. And Then There Were Two. 9. Dancing to a Different Beat. 10. We Can Get Through This. 11. Life Derails. 12. I Hope You'll Still Love Me After I Tell You This. 13. The Transition. 14. A Darker Turn. 15. In the Spotlight. 16. The Red Carpet. 17. What about Him? 18. The Loss of the Mani-Pedi Dream. 19. On the Mend. 20. Let's Talk Shop. 21. You Just have to Laugh. 22. The Zen of Ducks. References. Resources.

General Fields

  • : 9781785927485
  • : Jessica Kingsley Publishers
  • : Jessica Kingsley Publishers
  • : December 2016
  • : 19.70 cmmm X 13.00 cmmm X 2.50 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 184
  • : 306.8740867
  • : en
  • : Paperback
  • : Peggy Cryden LMFT