Product detail

And I Darken (The Conqueror's Trilogy #1)

And I Darken (The Conqueror's Trilogy #1)

Author: Kiersten White
Series: The\Conqueror's Trilogy Ser.
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

July 2016

Description
"This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO's Game of Thrones. . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore's GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won't want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend-and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion. But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against-and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point. From New York Timesbestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken."
Promotion info

An epic coming-of-age drama starring a kick-ass anti-princess who knows how to wield a sword

Reviews

"A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more ... required reading for every feminist fantasy fan" Buzzfeed "Epic and intense ... fans of dark history [will be] hooked from the outset. Think Game of Thrones transported to the Ottoman Empire" Lovereading4kids.co.uk "It's delicious" bustle.com "Fierce and dark ... A superb offering" theyoungfolks.com "Lada - so ugly and mean that readers will adore her - stubbornly rejects gender roles ... and the characters ... benefit from complex motivations and an unconventional love triangle. Addictive intrigue" Kirkus

Author description

KIERSTEN WHITE is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels for teens. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, which, in spite of its perfection, spurs her to dream of faraway places and even further away times.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780552573740
  • : Random House
  • : Corgi
  • : July 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
  • : [Fic]
  • : English
  • : Paperback
  • : Kiersten White
  • : 496