Product detail

Read Me Like A Book

Read Me Like A Book

Author: Liz Kessler
$16.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

July 2016

Description

A brave and honest coming of age story about one girl's exploration of love, identity and sexuality - the first YA novel from bestselling author Liz Kessler.

Ashleigh Walker is having a difficult year. She's struggling at school, and coming home to parents who are on the verge of divorce. She knows she should be happy spending time with her boyfriend - but, for some reason, being around him just makes her worry more. It's only in her English teacher, Miss Murray, that she feels she's found a kindred spirit.

Miss Murray helps Ashleigh develop her writing skills and gives her newfound confidence - but what happens when boundaries begin to blur? What will the repercussions be for Ashleigh? And how will she navigate her own sexuality?

A thought-provoking coming of age story from a highly-skilled author, addressing coming out and LGBT themes. For fans of Sarah Waters and Jodie Piccoult.

Reviews
Naturally, I would recommend this book to anybody who loves YA fiction, but especially to those between the ages of 15 and 18. Lesbot A warm, funny, engaging novel about friendship, family and following your heart. Sarah Waters, award-winning author of The Night Watch and Tipping the Velvet In this coming of age story with a twist, Liz Kessler bravely and honestly navigates the mind of a teen who is discovering her sexuality - and simultaneously learning to be true to herself. An important contribution to the YA literary canon and a welcome reminder that love is love, no matter what. Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Between The Lines Coming out is part of her story, not her entire story -- a powerful message for teens who may view sexuality as the defining part of a person. Kessler's sensitivity and control over the plot is a thing of beauty ... a must-have on all LGBT lists School Librarian A groundbreaking emotional novel telegraph.co.uk It is a delightful, well told story that will no doubt broaden horizons, inform and facilitate discussions. LGBT History Month After fifteen years, Read Me Like a Book is a celebration of how far we've come, and a reminder of how far we have yet to go. It's hilarious, sad, and, at times, an all too real story of first love that transcends sexuality without glossing over the struggles LGBT+ people face in today's world. Reece Wymer, So So Gay compels and intrigues its reader and provides an excellent, enjoyable read along the way. A must-read ARMADILLO Honestly. I loved this story. The Bookbag a gripping read, an atmospheric adventure NEWBOOKS This really is a brilliant book and definitely one that all teenagers should read. If you know any child who is struggling with their sexuality, this book would be an ideal read for them. The YA genre welcomes this book gladly to its fold. This book shows that when you fall in love, gender doesn't really matter. Serendipity Reviews
Author description

Liz Kessler studied English at Loughborough University, has worked as a teacher and a journalist and has an MA in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University. Liz now lives in Cornwall. Find out more at www.lizkessler.co.uk and follow her on Twitter @lizkesslerbooks and like her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lizkesslerchildrensauthor. For more about what this project means to Liz, read her blog at awfullybigblogadventure.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/lets-get-this-out-thereliz-kessler.html

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781780622101
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's)
  • : April 2016
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 304
  • : Paperback
  • : Liz Kessler
  • : 823.92
  • : en